# The best letter tracing books for preschoolers, compared
By Milo Wick, Lantern & Ladder · Prices and page counts checked 21 October 2026

## The short answer
There is no single best book. The right one depends on where your child is: not yet holding a pencil, ready for capitals, or needing a whole year of practice. Find your situation below.
- **Buying one book for a child who has never held a pencil:** Kumon's My First Book of Tracing or Radke's My First Learn-to-Write Workbook
- **Buying a book for a 3 or 4 year old that leads somewhere:** our Ready! Lines & Letters, the first of three
- **Spending the least:** Trace Letters by Sujatha Lalgudi
- **One book for the whole pre-K year, handwriting included:** School Zone's Big Preschool Workbook
- **Following the method a US school uses:** Learning Without Tears
- **Giving it as a present:** School Zone's Big Preschool Workbook for its size, or our personalised copy, with the child's name in the book
- **Wanting reusable:** a grooved copybook set, with the caveat in its entry
Ready! Lines & Letters is our book. The criteria below were chosen before the table was filled, and every number in it carries the date it was read.

## How we compared them
1. **Age fit.** Whether the ages on the cover match what the pages ask a small hand to do.
2. **Stroke guidance.** A start dot and numbered arrows on every model, not only on the first few pages.
3. **Line height.** How tall a writing row is from base line to top line, because a 3 year old's hand cannot keep inside a half inch row.
4. **How a row teaches.** Whether each row fades from model to dotted to faint to blank, so the help falls away inside the row.
5. **Letterforms named.** Whether the book says which print scheme it teaches, so the school will not have to unteach it.
6. **What follows the last page.** A next book, a reusable surface, or nothing.
7. **Pages for the price.** The page count set against the price on the day it was read.
We did not test every book with children. The facts come from the publishers' and retailers' pages, linked in each entry, and where a fact was not published the table says so. Amazon's pages cannot be read by our build, so competitors' prices are other retailers'.

## The eight books, one at a time

### 1 of 8: Ready! Lines & Letters (ours)
- **Best for:** A 3 or 4 year old whose parent wants the next two years mapped.
- **What is inside:** A pencil grip page for left and right hands, 16 stroke pages, 4 mazes, 6 shapes, the 26 capitals with a start dot and numbered arrows, review pages, practice paper, a certificate, and a code to a free printable pack.
- **Where it is strong:** Rows that fade from a solid model to dotted, faint and empty copies, the tallest rows on this list, and Book 1 of 3 with one character throughout, so Book 2 starts where this one ends.
- **Where it falls short:** Capitals only, so a child who already writes capitals starts at Book 2. A new imprint, with few reviews yet, and dearer than the cheapest books here.
- Author or publisher: Milo Wick, Lantern & Ladder
- Stated ages: 3 to 5
- Pages: 66
- Strokes before letters: yes, 16 pages and 4 mazes
- Capitals: A to Z, one page each
- Lowercase: no, in Book 2
- Numbers: no, in Book 2, 0 to 20
- Start dot and numbered arrows on every model: yes
- Rows fade from model to blank: yes
- Row height: 0.75 in in Book 1, 0.625 in in Book 2, 0.5 in in Book 3
- Letterforms named: Zaner-Bloser order, vertical manuscript
- After the last page: Book 2 and Book 3; a free printable pack behind the code in the back
- Character: Rudy or Sadie on every page; boy and girl editions
- Trim: 8.5 x 11 in
- Price, with the date read: [$8.99, £6.99, €9.99](https://lanternladder.com/books/rsw1) (our list price)
[Ready! Lines & Letters](https://lanternladder.com/books/rsw1.md)

### 2 of 8: My First Learn-to-Write Workbook
- **Best for:** The first book, bought on trust.
- **What is inside:** Pen control, line tracing, shapes, letters and numbers in 84 pages, in print since August 2019.
- **Where it is strong:** The most reviewed book in the category, with everything a 3 year old needs in one volume.
- **Where it falls short:** One book, so the search starts again when it is finished. The publisher's page does not show stroke arrows, so check the Look Inside before buying.
- Author or publisher: Crystal Radke, Callisto (Rockridge)
- Stated ages: 3 to 5
- Pages: 84
- Strokes before letters: yes
- Capitals: yes
- Lowercase: yes
- Numbers: yes
- Start dot and numbered arrows on every model: not verified
- Rows fade from model to blank: no
- Row height: not stated
- Letterforms named: not stated
- After the last page: a wipe-clean edition; no next book
- Character: varied art
- Trim: not verified
- Price, with the date read: [$7.17, list $8.99, Target](https://www.target.com/p/my-first-learn-to-write-workbook-kids-coloring-activity-books-by-crystal-radke-paperback/-/A-77353385) (read 21 October 2026)

### 3 of 8: Kumon My First Book of Tracing
- **Best for:** Pencil control before any letter.
- **What is inside:** Vertical lines, curves, zigzags and diagonals, in Kumon's graded steps.
- **Where it is strong:** A real ladder, with Uppercase Letters, Lowercase Letters and Writing Words as the next rungs, and good paper.
- **Where it falls short:** No letters in this book, and four to six purchases to cover what three do in our series. The age label differs between the cover and the retailer: Grade PK to K on one page, 2 to 4 on My Book of Amazing Tracing, the step before it.
- Author or publisher: Kumon Publishing
- Stated ages: Grade PK to K
- Pages: not stated on the retailer page; Kumon's series line says 80
- Strokes before letters: yes, the whole book
- Capitals: no letters
- Lowercase: no, a later Kumon book
- Numbers: no, a later Kumon book
- Start dot and numbered arrows on every model: no letters to arrow
- Rows fade from model to blank: no
- Row height: not stated
- Letterforms named: not stated
- After the last page: the next Kumon book
- Character: none
- Trim: not verified
- Price, with the date read: [$6.75, list $9.95, Rainbow Resource](https://www.rainbowresource.com/020716.html) (read 21 October 2026)

### 4 of 8: Trace Letters
- **Best for:** The lowest price.
- **What is inside:** Capital and lowercase tracing, with sight words.
- **Where it is strong:** The cheapest book here, with tens of thousands of ratings.
- **Where it falls short:** "3-5" on the cover with lowercase from the start, which is where the reviews saying it is too hard at 3 come from. No sequence to follow on.
- Author or publisher: Sujatha Lalgudi
- Stated ages: 3 to 5
- Pages: not publicly stated
- Strokes before letters: no
- Capitals: upper and lower
- Lowercase: yes
- Numbers: no
- Start dot and numbered arrows on every model: not verified
- Rows fade from model to blank: no
- Row height: not stated
- Letterforms named: not stated
- After the last page: the author's other titles
- Character: varied
- Trim: not verified
- Price, with the date read: [$5.99, Self Publishing Titans](https://www.selfpublishingtitans.com/books/detail/3115) (read 11 October 2026)

### 5 of 8: Modern Kid Press Letter Tracing for Preschoolers
- **Best for:** A known independent name with a matching numbers title.
- **What is inside:** Capital and lowercase letters to trace, with a numbers book sold apart.
- **Where it is strong:** Easy to find, with a numbers book from the same press to follow it.
- **Where it falls short:** Each title stands alone, with "ages 3-5" on everything. The page count and the price are not published on a page we could read, so the table says so.
- Author or publisher: Modern Kid Press
- Stated ages: 3 to 5
- Pages: not publicly stated
- Strokes before letters: no
- Capitals: upper and lower
- Lowercase: yes
- Numbers: a separate title
- Start dot and numbered arrows on every model: not verified
- Rows fade from model to blank: no
- Row height: not stated
- Letterforms named: not stated
- After the last page: the press's other titles
- Character: varied
- Trim: not verified
- Price, with the date read: not verified

### 6 of 8: School Zone Big Preschool Workbook
- **Best for:** One book for the whole pre-K year.
- **What is inside:** 320 pages, from colours to phonics, with handwriting one strand among many.
- **Where it is strong:** By far the most pages for the price, and broad enough to last a year.
- **Where it falls short:** The writing rows are small for a 3 year old, and the handwriting pages are a fraction of the book.
- Author or publisher: School Zone
- Stated ages: 3 to 5
- Pages: 320
- Strokes before letters: some
- Capitals: yes, among other subjects
- Lowercase: yes
- Numbers: yes
- Start dot and numbered arrows on every model: not verified
- Rows fade from model to blank: no
- Row height: small
- Letterforms named: not stated
- After the last page: none
- Character: varied
- Trim: not verified
- Price, with the date read: [$13.66, camelcamelcamel](https://camelcamelcamel.com/product/1681473992) (read 11 October 2026)

### 7 of 8: Learning Without Tears, Get Set for School (Pre-K)
- **Best for:** A family whose school uses the method, or a homeschool following it.
- **What is inside:** A multisensory method with its own letterforms, and a teacher guide sold apart.
- **Where it is strong:** It names its letterforms, matches what the classroom uses and names the book that follows.
- **Where it falls short:** $18 to $20 for the workbook alone. Its letterforms are its own, so a school on Zaner-Bloser or D'Nealian teaches a different shape.
- Author or publisher: Learning Without Tears
- Stated ages: Pre-K
- Pages: not publicly stated
- Strokes before letters: yes
- Capitals: yes
- Lowercase: yes
- Numbers: yes
- Start dot and numbered arrows on every model: yes, its own method
- Rows fade from model to blank: no
- Row height: not stated
- Letterforms named: its own letterforms
- After the last page: the K workbook
- Character: none
- Trim: not verified
- Price, with the date read: [$18 to $20 for the workbook, Sonlight](https://www.sonlight.com/handwriting-without-tears-pre-k) (read 11 October 2026)

### 8 of 8: Grooved magic copybook sets
- **Best for:** A parent who wants the book to last.
- **What is inside:** 4 or 5 thin books with grooved letters, and pens whose ink fades in 10 to 30 minutes.
- **Where it is strong:** Reusable, and the best seller by units on Amazon.
- **Where it falls short:** The groove guides the pencil, so the hand practises following a channel rather than forming a letter. Letterforms vary by seller, the pens run out, and nothing is kept. If reusable is the point, a printable pack does the same on paper.
- Author or publisher: many sellers
- Stated ages: 3 to 8
- Pages: 4 to 5 thin books
- Strokes before letters: some sets
- Capitals: yes
- Lowercase: yes
- Numbers: a separate book in the set
- Start dot and numbered arrows on every model: no, the groove replaces them
- Rows fade from model to blank: no
- Row height: one height
- Letterforms named: vary by seller
- After the last page: reusable; the ink fades in 10 to 30 minutes
- Character: none
- Trim: varies
- Price, with the date read: $13 to $27 for a set with pens, Walmart (read 21 October 2026)
Prices are the retailer's on the day named and change weekly. Links go to the page each number was read from.

## In the UK and the Netherlands
**In the UK,** the shelf is booklets rather than books, and the phrase on the cover is letter formation. [Collins Easy Learning First Writing 3-5](https://collins.co.uk/products/9780008212902) is £3.99 for 24 pages and [Practise with Peppa Wipe-Clean First Writing](https://www.foyles.co.uk/book/9780241254028) £5.99 for 16, both read on 11 October 2026. Some UK schools teach a pre-cursive hand from the start; our letters are print, with no lead-in strokes. Ready! Lines & Letters is £6.99 on Amazon.co.uk.
**In the Netherlands,** Deltas' [Mijn oefenschrift](https://www.bol.com/be/fr/p/mijn-oefenschrift-mijn-oefenschrift-eerste-stappen-naar-schrijven-3de-kleuterklas-groep-2/9200000010224788/) is €8.95 for 36 pages, and Boeken Boulevard's [Ik leer schrijven](https://www.hoeksteenboekhandel.nl/9789403702964/boeken-boulevard/ik-leer-schrijven-alle-letters-van-het-alfabet) is in most bookshops, both read on 11 October 2026. Our paperbacks are in English, and all three books are also a Dutch PDF on A4.
[Ready, Set, Write! in Dutch](https://lanternladder.com/nl/series/rsw.md)

## Which one to buy
**For a child who has never held a pencil,** start before letters. Kumon's My First Book of Tracing is all paths and no letters, which is right for a young 3 year old. Radke's My First Learn-to-Write Workbook opens the same way and goes on to letters, so it lasts longer for the money.
**If you want to spend the least,** Trace Letters by Sujatha Lalgudi is the cheapest book here and has plenty of rows. It starts lowercase at once and has no next book, so it suits a child who already holds a pencil well.
**For one book across the whole pre-K year,** School Zone's Big Preschool Workbook has 320 pages of letters, numbers, colours and early phonics. Handwriting is a small part of it, so add a tracing book if forming letters is the goal.
**If your child's school uses Learning Without Tears,** buy its own pre-K book, so home and class form letters the same way. Ask the teacher which title they use before you order.
**If you want something reusable,** a grooved copybook set can be used again and children like the ink that fades. Use it beside paper rather than instead of it, because the groove steers the pencil for them.
**If your child is 3 or 4 and you want one line to grow along for two years,** Ready! is the one we made for exactly that: strokes first, every capital with a start dot and numbered arrows, and rows that fade to blank, with Book 2 taking over for lowercase and numbers. If you want the most trusted first book and will search again in six months, Radke's is the safe buy.

## Questions parents ask

### What age do children learn to write letters?
Most children begin forming capital letters between 3 and 5, after they can draw the lines and curves the letters are made of. Lowercase and numbers follow at 4 to 6. Watch the hand rather than the birthday: a child who can draw a line from one dot to another and stop is ready for letters.

### Should a 3 year old start with capitals or lowercase?
Capitals. They are made of straight lines and simple curves, start at the same top line and are the letters a child sees in their own name first. Lowercase has more curves, tails and reversals, and comes a year later.

### Are wipe-clean or grooved books better than paper for handwriting?
They last longer, and a grooved channel does part of the work the hand has to learn. Paper keeps what the child wrote, so you can look back on it together. A printable pack gives paper that does not run out.

### Letter tracing book or free worksheets?
Free worksheets are fine for one letter at a time. A book puts the letters in an order, keeps one set of letterforms and one row height, and shows the child how far they have come. Each of our books has a free printable pack behind the code in the back, and four pages from each title can be had by email from its page.

### What helps a left-handed child with a tracing book?
Tilt the page to the right and have them hold the pencil a little higher up, so they can see what they are writing; Ireland's health service gives both tips. Check where the model letter is: a large model above the rows stays in view, while one only at the left end of a row sits under a left hand as the child writes on. In our Book 1 every letter page has its model above the rows, and the book opens with a pencil grip page for left and right hands.

## Related pages
- [Ready, Set, Write!](https://lanternladder.com/series/rsw.md)
- [Ready! Lines & Letters](https://lanternladder.com/books/rsw1.md)
- [Set! Letters & Numbers](https://lanternladder.com/books/rsw2.md)
- [Write! Words & Silly Sentences](https://lanternladder.com/books/rsw3.md)
- [Your child's name in the book, printed and posted](https://lanternladder.com/personalised.md)
- [Real pages, bulk orders and a person who answers email](https://lanternladder.com/schools.md)
- [Guides for parents](https://lanternladder.com/guides.md): One question each: when, how, capitals or lowercase, the name, tracing
---
Page: https://lanternladder.com/letter-tracing-books
Lantern & Ladder, Utrecht, Netherlands. info@lanternladder.com